From today’s reading in Tyndale’s One Year Chronological Bible dated 3/29:

The land distribution ends today with the faithful spy and leader Joshua receiving his land in the mountains of Ephriam. So all the land was distributed according to the lots assigned by the Lord in Shiloh at the door of the tabernacle. 

Then Joshua appoints the six cities of refuge: Kedesh, Shechem, Kirjath Arba, Bezer, Ramoth, and Golan. “These were the cities appointed for all the children of Israel and for the stranger who dwelt among them, that whoever killed a person accidentally might flee there, and not die by the hand of the avenger of blood until he stood before the congregation.”

Joshua also appoints forty-eight cities, which includes the six cities of refuge, for the Levites just as the Lord instructed Moses:

  • 13 cities to the children of Aaron the priests
  • 10 cities to the remaining Kohathites
  • 13 cities to the Gershonites
  • 12 cities to the Merarites

The Levites are to maintain the cities of refuge and minister to the people as teachers, judges, and medical care givers through the Word of the Lord.

“So the Lord gave to Israel all the land of which He had sworn to give to their fathers, and they took possession of it and dwelt in it. The Lord gave them rest all around, according to all that He had sworn to their fathers. And not a man of all their enemies stood against them; the Lord delivered all their enemies into their hand. Not a word failed of any good thing which the Lord had spoken to the house of Israel. All came to pass.” 🙌

Tomorrow’s reading concludes the Conquest Era 🎉 as we hear Joshua’s final words to Israel…so keep reading!

(Joshua 19:49-21:45, 1 Chronicles 6:54-81)

#bibleliteracymovement #chronologicalbibleteaching

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s